A NEW era in Southend politics could see more councillors getting a say on the big decisions as a new coalition gets set to take power.

A coalition of Independent, Labour and Lib Dem councillors will seize power from the Tories on Southend Council tomorrow night and is already planning a major shake-up of the status quo.

Controversial plans to build a seawall in Shoebury, close libraries and shut care homes will all be reviewed, while the current cabinet system could also go in favour of a new committee system.

But who are the people behind the coalition? See a profile of the new leaders here: 

While the new coalition ponders scrapping the cabinet system, it has appointed a new cabinet to take the Conservatives’ former hot-seats.

Ron Woodley: Independent councillor for Thorpe.

Role: Council leader and cabinet member for corporate services.

First elected: 2007.

Ian Gilbert: Labour group leader and councillor for Victoria.

Role: Deputy council leader and cabinet member for community support.

First elected: 2008.

Graham Longley: Lib Dem group leader and councillor for Blenheim Park.

Role: Deputy council leader and cabinet member for enterprise, tourism and economic regeneration.

First elected: 1983.

Martin Terry: Independent councillor for Thorpe and formerly Westborough.

Role: Independent group spokesperson and cabinet member for public protection, waste and transport.

First elected: 2003 (Westborough) and 2014 (Thorpe).

Anne Jones: Labour councillor for Kursaal.

Role: Cabinet member for children and learning.

First elected: 2012.

Mike Assenheim: Independent councillor for Shoebury.

Role: Cabinet member for regulatory control.

First elected: 2007.

David Norman: Labour councillor for Victoria.

Role: Cabinet member for adult social care and health and housing

First elected: 1965.