Billericay Town 3-2 Stourbridge

(Robinson 19’, Modeste 65’, Bricknell 90’: Broadhurst 47’, Pierpoint 50’)

From the AGP Arena

FA Trophy second round

BILLERICAY Town scored an injury-time winner to book their place in the FA Trophy third round against Stourbridge.

Billy Bricknell scored in the 93rd minute to send Town through and send the home fans into raptures.

Town had not been to the third round in 13 years but would have fancied their chances against the Northern Premier Division side.

After a slow start, Town began to take charge and both Sam Deering and Matt Paine saw efforts saved and go wide respectively.

But Town were to go ahead. Having missed the last two games with a hamstring strain, Jake Robinson was back in the side and it wasn’t long before he was back on the scoresheet.

The striker got on the end of a Josh Urquhart cross and he powered into the corner – the 11th match in the last 12 the forward has played in in which he has scored.

Stourbridge, who had caused a number of upsets in recent years in cup competitions, were struggling to stamp their authority on the game although first half substitute Aaron Forde did see an effort deflected wide.

But they never caused goalkeeper Alan Julian too much trouble until the start of the second half.

Just two minutes in it was all square, Leon Broadburst getting on the end of a cross to blast into the goal.

And two minutes later the tie had been turned on its head, defender Stuart Pierpoint on target.

Danny Waldren came close to an equaliser with an acrobatic effort before Ricky Modeste did draw Town level.

With 25 minutes to go, Modeste scored from close range to level matters with the match set up for a grandstand finish.

Substitute Billy Bricknell forced a save from keeper Matt Gold but Danny Waldren came closer, his effort striking the post before the ball was cleared.

And Billericay were to win it with the last kick, Bricknell blasting home in stoppage time to secure their progression.

Billericay Town: Julian, Kizzi, Urquhart, Swaine, Inman, Deering, Waldren (O;Hara 89’), Paine (Bricknell 59’), Modeste (Watt 79’), Cunnington, Robinson