A BLUE plaque declaring Sir David Amess an “ambassador for the city of Southend” will take pride of place in Leigh following the MP’s killing. 

The plaque, which has been created by designer Fred Feather, will be unveiled at Leigh Community Centre.

It comes as Commons Speaker, Sir Lindsay Hoyle, revealed a shield will be placed in the Commons chamber – an honour for MPs killed in office.

For the Leigh tribute, Mr Feather, 85, who has designed plaques across the county, has ordered the plaque already with the town council giving it approval to be placed on the building. 

He said: “It was just something I decided to do, as one of my jobs as treasurer of the Essex Police Memorial Trust and for some years now I have been putting plaques all around the county.

“I’ve had plaques at Southend, Romford, Colchester, Maldon, Chelmsford and now Leigh.

“Sir David had even unveiled plaques for me, so it’s an honour, and I’m grateful to Leigh Council for accepting it.”

Helen Symmons, town clerk for Leigh Town Council, revealed a formal unveiling will take place. 

She said: “It is expected to arrive early December, but a formal unveiling has yet to be arranged but will happen as soon as possible. The plaque has been designed by Fred who is a bit of an expert on blue plaques in Essex having developed them since he was a young lad. Leigh Town Council is honoured to have the plaque on our community centre which has become a hub for the community and seems a fitting venue as obviously Sir David played such an essential role in the Leigh community.”

Mr Feather added: “I used to get to work with Sir David on occasions because he wanted to know about police things because I was one of the founders of the Essex Police Museum.

“So, I used to meet him in Leigh while I was delivering or collecting poppy tins for Royal British Legion, and he would find me a parking spot behind the Conservative club. 

“I was always impressed with the way he always answered things, when somebody wrote to him, you would always get a courteous reply.”

MPs who have been honoured with a shield in the Commons include Labour MP Jo Cox and Ian Gow, killed by an IRA car bomb in 1990.