SOUTHEND United manager Phil Brown has sprung a few surprises in his starting line-up for the opening game of the League One season at Fleetwood Town this afternoon. 

Brown has opted to select David Worrall, Michael Timlin, Noel Hunt and Joe Pigott on the bench with Kevan Hurst and Myles Weston both in the side.

Summer signings Anthony Wordsworth and David Mooney have also been included and will make their competitive debuts for the Shrimpers.

But there is no place in the squad for midfielder Gary Deegan.

Southend United: Bentley, White, Bolger, Barrett, Coker, Hurst, Leonard, Wordsworth, Atkinson, Weston, Mooney

Subs: Prosser, Worrall, Timlin, Payne, T Smith, Hunt & Pigott