BILLERICAY Town have been crowned the Isthmian Premier League champions after securing a 2-0 win over Harlow Town.

Town went into the clash knowing that three points would be enough to secure top spot and complete the treble.

Joe Kizzi and Adam Cunnington’s close range strikes allowed Billericay to triumph in front of 1,689 supporters at the AGP Arena.

Jamie O’Hara’s first minute free kick forced Hawks goalkeeper David Hughes into a smart save as Town looked to notch an early opening goal.

A Josh Urquhart long throw-in caused problems for the visitors’ defence and the ball fell to Robbie Evans, but the Welshman’s volley went over crossbar.

Ricky Modeste passed up a golden opportunity to give Billericay the lead.

O’Hara’s impressive long pass in behind the Harlow defence found Evans, who unselfishly passed across the face of goal. But Modeste sent his strike over the crossbar, much to the frustration of a raucous AGP Arena crowd.

Billy Bricknell’s deft touch then sent another long throw-in from Urquhart inches wide of the target.

Harlow’s first effort came just past the half hour mark, but the Hawks would have taken the lead – against the run of play – were it not for Alan Julian making a smart save to deny Aaron James.

But Billericay were to break the deadlock three minutes before half-time.

Hughes was unable to hold Sam Deering’s deflected strike and Kizzi was on hand to fire home the rebound.

Bricknell sent a long range effort inches over the crossbar soon after the break, with Hughes rooted to the spot.

Julian made a stunning save to keep out Fabion Simms’ header and make sure Billericay’s lead remained intact.

But Jake Robinson perhaps should have doubled Town’s advantage when he was found by Cunnington after a defensive mix-up. However, the striker pulled his effort wide.

With 88 minutes on the clock, Cunnington found the back of the net after being found by Robinson to ensure Billericay could celebrate winning the treble, having already claimed the Essex Senior Cup and Isthmian League Cup.

Billericay Town: Julian, Kizzi, Urquhart, Paine (Waldren 73), Inman, Deering, Modeste, Evans (Hughes 85), Bricknell (Cunnington 67), O’Hara, Robinson