SOUTHEND United manager Chris Powell has made six changes to his starting line-up for tonight's Checkatrade Trophy clash against Portsmouth with goalkeeper Ted Smith starting for the first time since August 2017.

Smith has replaced Nathan Bishop between the sticks while John White returns in centre-back in place of Michael Turner.

Luke Hyam and Dru Yearwood have been recalled in midfield with Michael Kightly on the wing.

The final change comes in attack with Simon Cox returning alongside Theo Robinson. 

Southend United: Smith, Bwomono, Moore, White, Hendrie, Kightly, Yearwood, Hyam, Bunn, Cox, Robinson

Subs: Bishop, Turner, Dieng, McLaughlin, Mantom, Klass & Hutchinson