SOUTHEND United manager Phil Brown has selected his first starting line-up of the season – but there is no James Dunne.

The midfielder misses with a groin injury and Harry Phillips has therefore been selected in the centre of the park.

Blues look set to line up with five at the back with John White, Josh Coulson and Nathan Ralph the three centre-backs.

Coulson, Steve Arnold, Abu Ogogo, Sam Dalby and Rhys Murphy all make their Shrimpers debuts after signing in the summer. 

Southend United: Arnold, Demetriou, Coulson, White, Ralph, Bridge, Ferguson, Phillips, Ogogo, Dalby, Murphy

Subs: Seaden, Hobson, Egbri, Kargbo & Dennis