CRICKET: Hadleigh & Thundersley secured a fourth place finish in the Premier Division after beating Hornchurch by five wickets.

Hornchurch made 219 in their innings with Adam Dobson, Ishen Patel, Adam Forbes and Haider Ali Syed Zaidi all taking two wickets each for Hadleigh, who then made it home for the loss of five wickets.

Oliver Smith top scored for Hadleigh with 83 not out while Darius Vapiwala added 63 in the final game of the season.

Elsewhere, in the Premier Division, bottom of the table Billericay were beaten by 24 runs against Belhus.

Belhus made 211/6 in their innings before Billericay, who will be in Division One next season, were dismissed for 187 with Nathan Khelawon top scoring with 43.

In Division One, Old Southendian finished the season sitting second from bottom and were beaten by 117 runs against Buckhurst Hill in their final outing of the campaign.

Buckhurst Hill made 289/7 in their innings before Old Southendian were bowled out for 172 with Ahsan Yousaf the highest scorer with 71.

In Division Two, Wickford are celebrating being crowned champions and completed a successful season with a narrow 15 run win against Harlow Town.

Wickford made 200/9 with opener Chris Whitworth top scoring with 60 before Harlow were dismissed for 185 in reply.

Connor Etchells took four wickets for 23 runs while Huzaifa Umer with 3/38 also played a crucial part as Wickford again came out on top.

Third placed Leigh on Sea also finished the season with an exciting victory as they beat Benfleet by 20 runs. Leigh made 236/6 with Jon Edwards (65), Roy Smith (63), Joe Sexton (50 not out) and Oliver Wagstaff (45) all making impressive contributions.

Callum Wheeler and David Prophet both took two wickets for Benfleet who were then dismissed for 216.

Gavin Blowes top scored with 76 while Zak Impey was the pick of Leigh’s bowlers, taking 336.

Elsewhere, fifth placed Westcliff beat Frenford by one wicket at Chalkwell Park while bottom of the table Southend & EMT lost by 261 runs at Gidea Park & Romford and will be in Division Three next season.