BRIAN Ashton and Hilary Davey are this year’s champions at Rayleigh Leisure Indoor Bowls Club, topping the bill on finals weekend.

Club captain Ashton won the title for the first time, getting the better of Kevin Sadler to emerge a 21-15 winner of the men’s final.

A tight contest swung Ashton’s way when his final wood of the 18th end turned two down into three up.

In the ladies’ final Davey retained the title she won last year, beating Jackie Gilbert 21-17 in another close match which went to 24 ends.

Gilbert, who was champion in three successive years from 2017 to 2019, led in the early stages but Davey fought back in champion style.

Other finals: Men’s Pairs: Brian Ashton and Tim Lowes bt Chris Morris and David Pegg 17-14.

Ladies’ Pairs: Jackie Gilbert and Chris Quirey bt Gail Lowes and Janet Ashton 20-16.

Open Singles (4-3-2-1): Chris Morris bt Ken Gilbert 103-67.

Fred Benee Trophy (4-3-2-1): Chris Gaitely bt Ray Smith 101-99.

Mixed Pairs: ChrisQuirey and Ray Smith bt Marianne and John Burgess 21-13.

Mixed Triples: Heather Shelley, Andy Nunn, Chris Morris bt Ken and Jackie Gilbert, John Goldhawk 23-12.