THE Leigh & Westcliff Lawn Tennis Association cup finals have taken place - with a number of entertaining tussles on show.

The mixed cup final was the pick of the bunch as Deanes beat Rayleigh Lawn 4-3.

It was a really close match as the scoreline suggests, but Rayleigh got their revenge on Deanes a week later in the Men’s Cup Final, winning 4-1.

Echo: Ladies cup final - Thorpe Bay (left) beat 4-0 Rayleigh to triumphLadies cup final - Thorpe Bay (left) beat 4-0 Rayleigh to triumph (Image: Leigh & Westcliff LTA)

Thorpe Bay continued their dominance in the ladies event, emphatically beating Rayleigh to retain the title having secured another Division One championship this winter.

James Driscoll, chairman of the Leigh & Westcliff LTA, said: “The team atmosphere at all three finals was magnificent which is not always possible in tennis due to it being largely a ruthless individual sport.

“It was certainly a fitting farewell to the existing format with a new exciting competition replacing it next year.”

Echo: Men’s cup final winners - Rayleigh Lawn (right) beat Deanes 4-1Men’s cup final winners - Rayleigh Lawn (right) beat Deanes 4-1 (Image: Leigh & Westcliff LTA)

Full results: Mixed Cup Final (Deanes 4-3 Rayleigh). Louis Rawley & Emily Thompson (Rayleigh) bt Will Roberts & Olivia King (Deanes) 6-4 2-6 10-8. Sam Wood & Lizzie May (Deanes) bt Steve Lloyd & Kyla Eves (Rayleigh) 6-3 3-6 10-5. Sam Wood & Olivia King (Deanes) bt Louis Rawley & Kyla Eves (Rayleigh) 10-7.

Ladies Cup Final (Thorpe Bay 4-0 Rayleigh).

Chloe Jackson & Susie Staunton (Thorpe Bay) bt Kyla Eves & Lucia Bigden (Rayleigh) 6-1 6-2, Suzanne Ellis & Kirsten Rutt (Thorpe Bay) bt Susan ‘Dot’ Monte & Kathy Chambers (Rayleigh) .6-1 6-0 Men’s Cup Final (Rayleigh 4-1 Deanes).

Dave Barham & Louis Rawley (Rayleigh) bt Will Roberts & Sam Wood (Deanes) 6-4 6-4, Ian Pearson & Steve Lloyd (Rayleigh) bt Adam Brialey & James Smith (Deanes) 6-4 6-7 10-7.