MATTHEW Capps won the Thorpe Hall club championship after finishing two strokes clear.

Capps carded 147 in the competition, which is played off scratch over two rounds.

William Turner finished second after scoring 149.

The winner of the Burges Cup, for the best nett scores was Alex Barnetson, with 142 nett and the runner-up was Alex Hughes, with 143 nett on countback.

The Ollie Trophy, for the best nett scores for players with a handicap of 10 to 20, was won by Jeremy Burrows, with 145 nett.

Marc Bilkus was the runner-up on countback with 147 nett.

The best scratch score in the morning was 73 shots by Josh McColl and 72 shots in the afternoon by William Turner.

Thorpe Hall professional Richard McEvoy begins his Azerbaijan Challenge Open quest today.

McEvoy is currently 95th in the European Challenge Tour rankings with earnings of 7,531 euros.